Not Yet Defined











{June 8, 2010}   The News About Sitka

You may have seen the posts on Facebook last night and today about the possibility of me going to Alaska next month. Well, they’re all true. I got a call from the folks last night asking if I’d care to go on what amounted to an all-expenses paid cruise from Seattle to Alaska, with stops in Juneau, Sitka, Hubbard’s Glacier, Ketchikan, and Victoria, British Columbia, returning to Seattle on July 31st.

Of course, my first thought was that July 31st is Derby Night.

Well, today I put in a vacation request with the Damn Boss for the week of the cruise, and he approved it immediately. I am going. On a cruise. TO FUCKING ALASKA.

It includes, as I’ve mentioned, a stop in Sitka, the town featured in my favorite movie of 2009, The Proposal, making me an even bigger nerd than I ever imagined I could be. I’m excited about spending the day in a town that was mentioned many times in one of my favorite films, but only shown a scant few; most of the film was shot in Vancouver, Canada and Rockport, Massachusetts. What Sitka there is in the movie is only B-roll.

My other source of excitement, aside from the obvious, is that I’m told the ship will have wifi, which, if true, means you could be seeing updates and photos on here and on Facebook well before I ever get back.

I have never, ever gotten to do anything like this, and who knows, I may never again. I was apprehensive about going in the first place, but now I’m convinced. GOD WANTS ME ON THAT CRUISE SHIP. It only makes sense.

Katherine says:

This could potentially be ridiculously funny. Do you know the name of the ship you’ll be on for the trip? Seriously, big funny if it winds up being a particular one.



H.T.M.C. says:

It’s the Rotterdam VI. I shudder to think where you could be going with that. šŸ™‚



Leave a Reply

et cetera
