Not Yet Defined











{June 15, 2010}   Twitter

Am I the only one who thinks Twitter is simply an abomination?

I have a Twitter account, and there are a very few people I tried to follow on it, but I just can’t get into it. I cannot be the only one to realize that Twitter is the best (and worst) example of Western narcissism in the modern world. Facebook status updates aren’t enough; Myspace bulletins aren’t even close; e-mail’s ubiquity is utterly taken for granted… society simply demanded that we be able to send one-sentence (or less) updates to our — get this — “followers” on a moment-to-moment basis because we are just that important! And so are Ashton Kutcher and Kim Kardashian, dammit!

I might be a little old-fashioned for some people. I believe in grammar and sentences structure, I don’t sleep with anyone I’m not exclusive with, and I don’t think we need electronic hourly updates on peoples’ lives. I know I don’t need to be that wired, and I cringe to think about what life has become for the people who feel they do.

Jerry says:

I don’t get twitter, either. The whole micro-blogging concept just doesn’t sit right with me. If everything you have to say will fit in 140 characters, then you can probably get by without having to say it.



Katherine says:

I have an account, too, and I’ve tried really hard to see what other people see in it. Can’t get there.



Tyler says:

I love twitter. I check it several times a day. I follow several members of the nascar media and they usually post up a bunch of good stuff every day



Katherine says:

Hi 30 days of blog. *coughcough*



jen says:

Hey, I have two articles at http://cliqueclack.com/tv about how I learned to love Twitter when I started following TV stars, producers, directors, and writers.



Erynn says:

Haha, I just found your blog! And I have to agree with you about twitter, I can’t get in to it, I like my sentence structure and grammar too much. Also, yay for Old-Fashioned!

-Erynn. 😉



Leave a Reply

et cetera
